Concealed carry of handguns is legal with a permit in Missouri. You must have a background check ,and be at least 23 to apply for a CCW permit, which is valid for 3 years. There is a $100 cost for the permit and a $50 cost to renew it. Most public places in Missouri are off limits to concealed carry including schools, amusement parks, and bars. Public transportation is also off limits to concealed carry and results in heavier penalties then other public locations. Missouri is a "shall issue" state, and does not issue permits to non-residents.
Concealed carry is the ability to, legally carry a gun that is not plainly visible. This applies to carrying it on one's person, or inside their vehicle. While many states allow concealed carry of a firearm on one's person with a permit, most do not allow concealed carry in a vehicle, or have strict guidelines on how the gun must be stored.
Most states require the applicant be at least 21 to apply for a permit, along with other requirements unique from state to state. There is a fee invaulved in getting a CCW which varies widly from state to state. Some states honor the concealed carry permit of certain other states (see the Permits Honored section for a complete listing).