Rhode Island is one of the tougher states when it comes to firearm regulation. Though it’s nowhere near as strict as New York or California.
Rhode Island has a 7 day waiting period on firearms. If a firearm is stolen it must be reported to police within 24 hours of the owner’s discovery that it’s missing.
It is illegal to possess a sawn off rifle or shotgun.
|Permit to Purchase||No||Yes|
|State Preemption of Local Restrictions||Yes||Yes|
(often encompasses the open carry permit)
large capacity feeding devices are prohibited as of 6/20/2022
The following is a list of imitation firearms in Rhode Island:
Rhode Island does not run, or fund any gun buyback programs.
Rhode Island does not have an inheritance gun law.