With a score of 0 for the Brady Champaign (as of 2011) Utah has some of the least restrictive gun laws in the U.S. alongside Alaska, and Arizona.
It is illegal to fire a gun from a vehicle, boat ramp, developed beaches, golf courses, or designated camp or picnic sites. The same applies to within 600ft of any structure that feeds or houses domesticated animals without the written permission of the owner. It is illegal to fire a weapon within 600ft of a private home without the owner’s written permission.
|Permit to Purchase||No||No|
|State Preemption of Local Restrictions||Yes||Yes|
(often encompasses the open carry permit)
Yes, Utah has a gun buy back program.
A gun buyback program in Utah aims to decrease the amount of weapons in circulation to prevent mass shootings and make Utah a safer place to stay. Residents received a $100 gas gift card for submitting an assault rifle and $50 gas gift card for submitting every other type of firearm
Utah does not have an inheritance gun law.