GunLaws101.com

Overview for Wisconsin

Wisconsin does not allow the discharge of firearms within 100 yards of a building where people live or gather. Tents, other portable environments, vehicles, or buses are not included in this. It is also illegal to shoot across a highway. Also firing a weapon 660 feet from any square, park, or other area controlled or owned by the local government is illegal.

There is a 48 hour waiting period on firearms.


Permit to PurchaseDetails
Open CarryDetails
Concealed CarryDetails
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsDetails
Firearm RegistrationDetails
Owner LicenseDetails
Law Long-guns Handguns
Permit to PurchaseNoNo
Open CarryYesYes
Concealed CarryNoYes
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsYesYes
Firearm RegistrationNoNo
Owner LicenseNoNo

The Concealed Carry Permit

(often encompasses the open carry permit)

Offical Concealed Carry page for Wisconsin.


Wisconsin honors the permits of

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wyoming

Virginia (non-resident permits), Washington, West Virginia (only if permit issued after 6/8/12)

Wisconsin's permits are honored by

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont


Wisconsin FAQ


State Source