GunLaws101.com

Overview for South Dakota

Chapter 44 of Title 18 of the United States Code (U.S.C.) does not allow citizens, convicted of a felony with a prison sentence over a year to own firearms. This includes hand guns, and long guns. Many states allow convicted felons to own firearms after a certain amount of time has passed, (usually 10 years or more) since the end of their sentence, and/or if they are given a full pardon by certain authority figures (Governors, President, etc.) South Dakota allows convicted felons to possess firearms 15 years after they were released from prison, or 15 years after their parole, or probation ended.


Permit to PurchaseDetails
Open CarryDetails
Concealed CarryDetails
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsDetails
Firearm RegistrationDetails
Owner LicenseDetails
Law Long-guns Handguns
Permit to PurchaseNoNo
Open CarryYesYes
Concealed CarryNoYes
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsYesYes
Firearm RegistrationNoNo
Owner LicenseNoNo

The Concealed Carry Permit

(often encompasses the open carry permit)

Offical Concealed Carry page for South Dakota.


South Dakota honors the permits of

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

South Dakota's permits are honored by

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming


South Dakota FAQ


State Source