GunLaws101.com

Overview for Massachusetts

Massachusetts has very strict firearm regulations compared to most states.

Massachusetts has 5 different types of firearm licenses. A class A allows the carry and concealed carry of Large Capacity handguns, rifles and mace (yes you need a firearm permit to carry mace in Massachusetts). It costs a total of $200, $100 for the license itself, and $100 for the safety course. You must be 21 or older to apply for a Class A license. Class A Restricted licenses cost the same as a regular Class A, but only allow open carry of large capacity handguns, rifles and maces, concealed carry is not allowed on a Class A Restricted permit. Class B licenses also cost $200 and allow the holder to open carry, not conceal a non-large capacity handguns, rifles, and mace. Applicants must be 21 or older. An FID card costs $200, and allows open carry of non-large capacity riffles/shotguns and mace. Applicants must be 18 or older, or 15 and up with parent’s consent. An FID card is required to purchase any firearm in Massachusetts. A Restricted FID cost $25, this only allows for the carry of mace/pepper spray. Applicants must be 18 or 15 with parental consent.

Massachusetts defines large capacity handguns as being able to hold 10 or more rounds, non-large capacity handguns carry 10 or less rounds. Large capacity rifles and shotguns can hold 5 or more rounds, non-large capacity rifles/shotguns hold 5 or less rounds.


Permit to PurchaseDetails
Open CarryDetails
Concealed CarryDetails
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsDetails
Firearm RegistrationDetails
Owner LicenseDetails
Law Long-guns Handguns
Permit to PurchaseYesYes
Open CarryNoYes
Concealed CarryNoYes
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsNoNo
Firearm RegistrationNoNo
Owner LicenseYesYes

The Concealed Carry Permit

(often encompasses the open carry permit)

Offical Concealed Carry page for Massachusetts.


Massachusetts honors the permits of

Massachusetts does not honor any other state's permits.

Massachusetts's permits are honored by

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont


Massachusetts FAQ


State Source