GunLaws101.com

Overview for Tennessee

Tennessee does not require a permit to purchase a firearm. However, when buying a firearm the customer has to provide a current ID and their information for the dealer, so they can fill out the background check forms. There may be a $10 fee associated with the background check depending on the location. There may be a $5 fee for finger printing, which is required for new applicants.

A person leading a meeting can ban firearms from being there by posting highly visible signs on every entrance to the meeting place banning the possession of firearms.


Permit to PurchaseDetails
Open CarryDetails
Concealed CarryDetails
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsDetails
Firearm RegistrationDetails
Owner LicenseDetails
Law Long-guns Handguns
Permit to PurchaseNoNo
Open CarryYesYes
Concealed CarryNoYes
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsYesYes
Firearm RegistrationNoNo
Owner LicenseNoNo

The Concealed Carry Permit

(often encompasses the open carry permit)

Offical Concealed Carry page for Tennessee.


Tennessee honors the permits of

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana , Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Tennessee's permits are honored by

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana , Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming


Tennessee FAQ


State Source