Chapter 44 of Title 18 of the United States Code (U.S.C.) does not allow citizens, convicted of a felony with a prison sentence over a year to own firearms. This includes hand guns, and long guns. Many states allow convicted felons to own firearms after a certain amount of time has passed, (usually 10 years or more) since the end of their sentence, and/or if they are given a full pardon by certain authority figures (Governors, President, etc.) This state allows felons to own gun as long as 5 years has passed since the end of that person’s sentence. For more information on Texas’s laws on felons owning guns click here.
The manufacture, sale or transfer of zip guns “A crude weapon made usually in someone’s basement or garage, where all the components of the gun are creatively constructed out of what is available to make the gun function.”(definition from urbandictionary.com) is illegal.
|Permit to Purchase||No||No|
|State Preemption of Local Restrictions||Yes||Yes|
(often encompasses the open carry permit)
Offical Concealed Carry page for Texas.
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming