One of the strictest states in the U.S. Illinois was the last state to implement the right to carry, and does not honor the permits of any other states.
Illinois requires an FOID (Firearm Owner Identification) to purchase and to own any firearm. More information on FOID card is available here. There is a mandatory 72 hour waiting period on handguns and a 24 hour on long guns. Law enforcement officers and firearm dealers are exempt from the waiting period.
Carrying a firearm while wearing a hood or mask is illegal.
|Permit to Purchase||Yes||Yes|
|State Preemption of Local Restrictions||Partial||Partial|
(often encompasses the open carry permit)
It is prohibited in Illinois to sell, offer to sell or transfer any firearm that doesn't have a serial number and unserialized unfinished frame or receiver to a buyer who is not a federally licensed manufacturer, dealer or importer.
In Illinois you cannot knowingly possess, transport, or receive an unserialized unfinished frame or receiver if you are not a licenced manufacturer, dealer or importer
The following is a list of imitation firearms in Illinois:
Yes, Illinois has an inheritance gun law.