Colorado allows citizens to keep unloaded long guns in their vehicle. Handgun kept in a vehicle are not considered concealed and so no permit is needed to legally keep one in a private vehicle.
As of July 1, 2013 all private sales are required to have universal background checks. Dealers must keep detailed records on the exchange or sale of handguns. Included in these records is the buyer’s personal information (height, age, address, etc.) and the guns information (make, caliber, serial number, etc.) These records can be inspected by the police at any time.
|Permit to Purchase||No||No|
|State Preemption of Local Restrictions||Yes||Yes|
(often encompasses the open carry permit)
The sale, transfer and possession of a large-capacity magazine is prohibited in Colorado.
The following is a list of imitation firearms in Colorado:
BB Gun Pellet Gun
Yes, Colorado has a gun buy back program.
A gun buyback program in Utah aims to decrease the amount of unwanted weapons in circulation. You can get a visa gift card if you turn in your single shot/non-semi automatic rifles, including double barrel shotguns for $50. For handguns and semi-automatic rifles you can get $150. For any assault style rifle you can get $250 for turning those in.
Yes, Colorado has an inheritance gun law.