Washington has a waiting period of 5 days. Unless the buyer has a concealed carry permit, then there is no waiting period. This waiting period can be extended 30 days by a sheriff or chief of police, if there are reasonable grounds for it. Examples of what are considered to be reasonable grounds are outstanding felony warrants, pending mental health proceedings, or pending criminal charges. A court may extend this farther if there are sufficient grounds for it.
|Permit to Purchase||No||No|
|State Preemption of Local Restrictions||Yes||Yes|
(often encompasses the open carry permit)
Yes, Washington has a gun buy back program.
[WAC 446-100-020 * Procedures. The buyback program in which the Washington state patrol will pay one hundred fifty dollars to any Washington state resident, excluding gun dealers, who present a bump-fire stock that are in working condition, can be brought to a specified location. (1) The Washington state patrol will hold events at its facilities throughout the state. These events will be announced on social media and the Washington state patrol web page at www.wsp.wa.gov. (2) An individual must bring the bump-fire stock as defined in WAC 446-100-015 along with a valid driver's license or any other identification to a scheduled event. (a) An individual must complete a voucher form provided by the Washington state patrol, with the individual's name and a valid mailing address for payment. (b) The Washington state patrol will destroy the bump-fire stock and process the voucher form for payment. (c) The Washington state patrol will issue a check and mail to the name and address on the voucher form.] (https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=446-100-020)
Washington does not have an inheritance gun law.