GunLaws101.com

Arkansas's Concealed Carry


Arkansas allows concealed carry of handguns, there was a recent change to this law. On August 16, 2013, the law allowing concealed carry of handguns without a permit was put into effect. People can still acquire CCW permits on a "shall issue" basis. Applicants must pass a training course before they can receive their permits. Permits cost $147.25 for anyone 64 or under, for people 65 and up it costs $95.25.

Statute

5-73-301 - 5-73-320

What is Concealed Carry?

Concealed carry is the ability to, legally carry a gun that is not plainly visible. This applies to carrying it on one's person, or inside their vehicle. While many states allow concealed carry of a firearm on one's person with a permit, most do not allow concealed carry in a vehicle, or have strict guidelines on how the gun must be stored.

Most states require the applicant be at least 21 to apply for a permit, along with other requirements unique from state to state. There is a fee invaulved in getting a CCW which varies widly from state to state. Some states honor the concealed carry permit of certain other states (see the Permits Honored section for a complete listing).


Other Arkansas firearm laws

Compare Concealed Carry Nationwide