New York's Owner License

New York issues 3 types of licenses for handguns. A license to carry in one's home or business, a Target & Hunting, and Unrestricted Carry. Unrestricted licenses allow carry anytime. Target and Hunting licenses allow carry when one's is hunting or target shooting. Applicants must be at least 21 to apply for a license unless they are a member of law enforcement, or the armed forces.


S 265.20, S 265.01

What is Owner License?

Owner's License are required by some states to prove the person can legally own firearms. Rules of owner's licenses vary from state to state.

Other New York firearm laws

Compare Owner License Nationwide