GunLaws101.com

New Jersey's Permit to Purchase


New Jersey requires people to have a Firearms Purchasers Identification Card (FID), to buy a firearm. There is also a separate permit required for each handgun purchase. This permit is only good for one purchase, of a handgun. Applicants must be 21 or over to purchase a handgun, 18 for other firearms.

The FID costs a total of $59. $54 dollars for finger printing. and the $5 FID fee. The permit to purchase is $2, and is valid for 90 days.


What is Permit to Purchase?

Some states require that a citizen acquires a permit, before they purchase a gun. If it is required, there will be a fee that varies from state to state. Some states also require finger printing, and background checks before issuing the permit.


Other New Jersey firearm laws

Compare Permit to Purchase Nationwide