GunLaws101.com

Alabama's Concealed Carry


Alabama became a "shall issue" state regarding concealed carry permits on August 1st 2013. At the same time they stopped issuing permits to non-residence. As long as the applicant is qualified and over 18, they will receive a permit. Permits cost $5-$20, depending on where you're getting the permit. The applicant decides how long the permit will last, from 1 to 5 years


What is Concealed Carry?

Concealed carry is the ability to, legally carry a gun that is not plainly visible. This applies to carrying it on one's person, or inside their vehicle. While many states allow concealed carry of a firearm on one's person with a permit, most do not allow concealed carry in a vehicle, or have strict guidelines on how the gun must be stored.

Most states require the applicant be at least 21 to apply for a permit, along with other requirements unique from state to state. There is a fee invaulved in getting a CCW which varies widly from state to state. Some states honor the concealed carry permit of certain other states (see the Permits Honored section for a complete listing).


Other Alabama firearm laws

Compare Concealed Carry Nationwide